Eyes Wide Open

For the past few weeks I’ve been enjoying Reggie McNeal’s book, Missional Renaissance. God has been using it to reshape my understanding of what it means for the church to be the church. With every turn of the page my heart has been refreshed with a desire to embrace the Kingdom of God in new and exciting ways.

One of the things that’s become more and more evident is that we are called to live in such a way that our lives are on mission with God no matter where we’re stationed. So, where do you live, work, and play? Those are the places where God has stationed you. Do you find yourself being aware of the God opportunities all around you? I’m not really good at this yet, but I’m committed to being intentional about it. I don’t want to waste where God has placed me. I want to be a good steward of where He’s stationed me and my family for the glory of God.

This morning, as I was reading in chapter 6, I was challenged to consider how my prayer life is affected by this missional renaissance. Consider these words from Reggie McNeal:

“It is unfortunate that so many people think only of prayer as a spiritual discipline. It is this but so much more. It is breathing to a Jesus follower, the lifeblood of staying connected throughout the day to the heart of the missional God. If we pursue prayer as a discipline to be mastered, we tend to see it as something we do when we shut out the world and retreat into our prayer chambers. Missional Jesus followers certainly do engage in concentrated prayer like this, but they also pray with their eyes wide open as they move through their day. They don’t want to miss what God is up to in the middle of life.”

I don’t know about you, but more often than not I’ve put prayer into a nice, neat box so that I could keep it under control. I hate that. I hate that I’ve been okay with that. God, break the boxes that I’ve constructed and help me to walk this earth with my eyes wide open so that I won’t miss what You’re up to every step of the way.

Can you relate? Has prayer been more of a discipline rather than breathing?

Leave a Reply

