To BE or not to BE

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/599/37887482/files/2015/01/img_2941.gifAs I was coming to the end of this last year, 2014, it was recommended to me by Kavanna House to invite God to give me “One Word” to focus on in 2015. This one word is a simple way for me to allow God to focus my attention this year. As I walked through the process described in the book by the same title. I believe that God led me to embrace the word BE.

Luke 10:38-42 captures the essence of what I feel God wants me to gain from being focused on the word BE.

In verse 42 Jesus is trying to help Martha understand why he didn’t encourage Mary to do something as opposed to choosing to simply BE WITH Jesus and enjoy his presence.

All my life I’ve been duped into thinking that doing was better than being…and I was wrong. There is certainly a place for doing in every relationship, but if I choose to neglect simply being present with people and enjoying being with Jesus and learning from him, I’m missing out on some of the best moments of life.

Jesus makes it very clear which is better, being or doing, when he tells Martha that Mary was the one who chose what was [BE]TTER. Martha was missing out–and quite frankly, I don’t want to miss out on Jesus this year. I don’t want to miss out on how my life will be changed from choosing what is better.

What is your One Word for 2015?

One thought on “To BE or not to BE

  1. Pingback: Longing (take 2) | Full House : Full Life

Leave a Reply

