Working for Peace

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/599/37887482/files/2015/01/img_2957.jpg

God blesses those who work for peace, for they will be called the children of God. (‭Matthew‬ ‭5‬:‭9‬ NLT)

As much as yesterday was very much a day of rest for our family where we enjoyed playing games, laughing, watching football and catching up on some things, it was also a day where my wife and I felt spent due to what seemed like hours and hours encouraging peace among our kids.

I’m amazed, as I look back on the day, how draining it is to work for peace. Believe you me, it’s definitely worth it every time I pursue peace, but it’s no easy task. I’m extremely grateful for the reminder that when I choose to be a peacemaker that I’m called a child of God. I guess it’s kind of like that phrase, “like father, like son.”

To be honest, I’m not sure that peace won the day, but I do know that sleep, which is a form of peace, became a reality in the evening hours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

