Creating Space

2015/01/img_2969.jpg
“Space and light and order. Those are the things that men need just as much as they need bread or a place to sleep.” – Le Corbusier

Do you have a space to call your own? Is there a room in your house, a favorite chair, booth, or park bench, or perhaps a spot in a nearby forest where you can be alone with your thoughts, a good book, your journal , or God?

Right now I’m sitting in a chair by my fireplace with a fresh cup of coffee, my Kindle, my journal and my desire to allow my heart to connect with the God of the universe.

Without this space in the early morning hours, I miss out on opportunities to hear from God, to read and be challenged, and to simply be in the midst of the silence. Im convinced that this space, although it’s common, as opposed to bring just for me, is crucial for my sanity as well as my growth as a follower of Jesus.

I want to encourage you, if you haven’t already, to create a space for yourself. If you love being outdoors (and it’s not below freezing outside) keep your eyes open for that perfect spot where you can enjoy relaxing in nature. If you need to feel like your in the midst of being with others, search for a public space that allows you to see and hear others, but also provides an opportunity for you to be by yourself in the midst of it all. For those of you who have a spare room in your house and a vision to make it your very own space, take some time to discern how that space can be organized. Consider lighting, pictures, sounds, and smells. What furniture will make it comfortable for you? What do you need to see or hear that will provide you with the greatest opportunity to slow down and be present?

I’m still learning about the importance of creating space. It’s making more and more sense to me. Most times I need things to be simple so that distractions are minimal. However, there are times when soft music or the sound of water enhances my experience and heightens my awareness of what God is trying to say to me.

What type of space works best for you and what are the items in that space?

Leave a Reply

