What does being with Jesus look like?

2015/01/img_2973.jpg
The image above is representative of a scene found in the Bible when Jesus was visiting with a few friends. Mary and Martha are pictured with Jesus. Martha has been busy with serving Jesus and is now complaining that her sister Mary isn’t helping her. But Jesus responds to Martha by telling her that Mary has chosen to do what is better. Mary was simply enjoying being in the presence of Jesus.

So, what does it look like for us today to establish a rhythm where we can be present with Jesus?

I’ve been asking this question a lot lately. I find myself desperate to discover what this looks like for me because I know that my M.O. Is to be busy doing rather than to simply be.

One of the ways that I’m currently understanding this idea of being is with the word position. Here are some questions I’m beginning to ask.

1. Am I willing to position myself so I am ready to hear/listen and then willing to surrender/obey?

2. Am I willing to position myself so I am ready to receive healing and wholeness?

3. Am I willing to position myself so I am ready to allow God to influence my thoughts, attitudes, words, and actions?

I have this deep sense that my understanding of what it means to be with Jesus is directly related to my willingness to position myself before him in ways that are vulnerable.

Leave a Reply

