Faith vs. Doubt

Question

Rob Bell, in his book, What we Talk about when we Talk about God, shares the following:

“For many people in our world, the opposite of faith is doubt. The goal, then, within this understanding, is to eliminate doubt. But faith and doubt aren’t opposites. Doubt is often a sign that your faith has a pulse, that it’s alive and well and exploring and searching. Faith and doubt aren’t opposites; they are, it turns out, excellent dance partners.”

I have to say that I used to be in that camp where doubt was thought to be the opposite of faith. For the longest time I didn’t know what to do with people who expressed doubt in God. I can’t really explain why. I think part of it was that I hadn’t ever allowed myself to doubt.

Recently, I’ve been challenged to consider how God chooses to meet us in the darkness that often comes with seasons of doubt. There can be great healing and wholeness for those who allow God to be present in the midst of their doubting and asking questions of faith and life. Giving ourselves permission, as well as others, to work out our doubt as opposed to running from it, will often times result in a deeper walk of faith than ever imagined.

Bell writes, “Doubt is often a sign that your faith has a pulse, that it’s alive and well and exploring and searching.” I love this imagery. It makes perfect sense to me.

As I consider that I will most likely have some seasons of doubt and questioning in my future, I count it a blessing to know that I have some incredible friends who will not only give me the space to wrestle, but who will stick by me and not abandon me. They will choose to stand firm and remain fateful. Sharing faith and life and doubts in the midst of community makes all the difference in the world.

Leave a Reply

