Anything?

IMG_3041

Last night I was reading about King Solomon with my two youngest boys and I asked the same question of them that God asked Solomon, “If you could have anything in the world, what would it be?”

They answered cars and Legos as any 5 and 7 year old boy would. Solomon, as you may remember. answered very differently. His answer was wisdom. And God was pleased with his answer, and gave him riches and wealth as well.

I’m still unsure as to how I would answer that question. Wisdom seems to make perfect sense, but I’m just not sure that I could forgo asking for something to care for my immediate needs rather than something like wisdom. That’s our culture, though, isn’t it? I tend to have a narrow focus and can only see myself and my needs at times that everything else going on around me is happening without my knowledge, or I at least don’t care enough to be concerned.

How would you answer that question?

Leave a Reply

