The “YES” Challenge

 My wife and I have been enjoying the opportunity to attend a parenting seminar this weekend focused on the topic of connecting with our children. It’s been an amazing time to reflect, learn and resolve to change. 

One of the speakers was sharing their story with us and casually put a challenge out to all of us to go an entire day responding with a “yes” when our kids ask us if they can do or have something, as much as it’s possible. It’s a challenge to refrain from saying “no.”

I’m game for a challenge. So I can’t wait to give it a try when I’m with my children tomorrow. I’m not expecting it to be easy, however I can see how there could be some great benefits to turning my answers and responses to a “yes” for both my kids as well as myself. 

Now, the reason why I say this isn’t easy for me is because I have allowed myself to get in the habit of saying “no” to my kids for my own benefit and because of my own selfishness. I feel like I’m starting each day by telling my kids “no” before they even ask me a question. Quite honestly I’m surprised they even direct their questions to me because of how often I say “no.”

The more I think about it, the more I’m saddened for my kiddos. I desperately want them to hear me say “yes” more often and I never want them to get tired of asking me questions because they know that 9 times out of 10 my answer will be “no.”

So I am devoted to giving this one day challenge a try with the hopes that it will spill over into the next day, and the next, and the next until it becomes a new habit. 

How about you? Is this challenge something that would be helpful for your parenting journey?

Leave a Reply

